Oksana crowned College dux

Te Awamutu College dux Oksana Voznyuk.

Oksana Voznyuk has been named Te Awamutu College’s year 2020 dux.

Oksana – a Head Student described as a “fine ambassador” was top of subject for Drama, English Extension and Earth and Space Science.

She has has already attained NCEA Level 3, gaining all 89 credits – at excellence level – she has attempted so far this year. She also gained an Excellence endorsement in Level 3 Chemistry last year in Year 12.

Oksana featured prominently throughout last week’s award ceremony led by Principal Tony Membery.

On top of her $3000 award as dux, Oksana also collected a $20,000 University of Auckland Top Achiever Scholarship, the RSA Peace Award with M J Neethling and the General Excellence Cup for Academic, Sports, Culture, Participation and Service.

Mr Membery said Oksana’s participation, service and leadership in her time at the College has been extensive from 2016.

“As a Year 9 student she got involved in the SADD Committee, Support Act, Senior Band and school production,” he said. “She has continued involvement in Senior Band right through – she is an accomplished flautist.

He remarked on her “huge” contribution to school committees and commitment as a Keep Cool Mentor for the last two years working with year nine students.

“This year Oksana was Chairperson of the Culture Committee – under her capable leadership they planned and prepared for our annual Talent Quest, which was enjoyable and entertaining. Oksana was able to both lead and effectively delegate.”

The Mexted Cup for Proxime Accessit went to Gemma Dykshoorn who topped Accounting, Economics, Food Technology, Mathematics with Calculus and Media Studies.

The General Excellence Cup for Year 12 went to Matthew Yarndley, who topped Level 2 Economics and collected all 53 Level 2 credits he attempted. He has represented the school’s 1st XI Hockey team for four years, was a member of the Health and Service Committees and is part of the Camp Committee planning the 2021 Year 13 camp.

Bree Walker, chair of the 2020 Students Against Dangerous Driving (SADD) committee won the Te Awamutu Business and Professional Women Trophy for Initiative and Enterprise

Billie Brown-Wahanui, who won the Waipā District Council Service to The Community Award had been a capable and reliable Chairperson of the 2020 Service Committee.

“She has been able to not only lead but also delegate effectively,” Mr Membery said.

Craig Scott was the inaugural winner of the Prime Minister’s Vocational Excellence Award.

“This award is for a student who is not only succeeding academically here at school, as well as positively contributing to our school culture, but who is also successfully participating in Trades Academy, Secondary Tertiary programmes or Gateway programmes,” Ms Membery said

Craig completed his Gateway placement with Magills Butchery in Te Awamutu and his additional credits through Skills 4 Work.

More Recent News

Sanctuary Mountain’s big day

About 100 supporters, sponsors and iwi marked the opening of Sanctuary Mountain’s new education centre this morning. Manu Korokii Education Centre has been 20 years in the making and opens a new chapter in teaching…

Museum gems protected

Most objects in Te Awamutu Museum’s collection are safe in climate-controlled storage following the sudden decision to evacuate the museum’s Roche Street building three months ago. Uenuku, a taonga of Tainui and the most valuable…

Storm: how our mayor prepared

Susan O’Regan was only days into her new job as Waipā mayor late last year when she sought a briefing with the council’s Emergency Management team. “There were a handful of things that were very…

United it stands…

A century after a community campaign  saw the establishment of Anzac Green in Te Awamutu, the same spirit is alive and well as plans proceed to save its flagpole. The Green, originally the Memorial Triangle,…