Cream of the College

Scholarship winners: l-r Te Awamutu College principal Tony Membery, board of trustees deputy chairperson Jock Ellis, Max McPhee, Megan Walker, Bayley Quin, Atareipounamu Crown, Keita Koroheke, Matthew Yarndley, Grace Higham, Charlotte Graham, Sophie Gold, Richard Whitmarsh, Ngawaina Hohepa, Rowan Heaslip, Emily Butterfield.

Te Awamutu College live-streamed its awards presentation ceremonies for the first-time last week which gave its new Facebook page, launched earlier in the month, an added boost.

Te Awamutu College principal Tony Membery, centre, with proxime accessit Matthew Yarndley and dux Megan Walker.

At the awards themselves, held in the school hall, Megan Walker was named school dux and Matthew Yarndley the proxime accessit.

Megan and Matthew were both recipients of Waipā Youth Academic Awards last month.

Megan has excelled throughout her time at the college and has consistently achieved excellence in mathematics, statistics, physics, chemistry and economics.

She won the Waipā District Council service to the community award for chairing the service committee which raised funds for SPCA, Can Teen and Loving Arms.

Max McPhee, left, receives his Victoria University scholarship from board of trustees deputy chairperson Jock Ellis.

Matthew, who was one of four head students this year, has been a member of the college 1st hockey XI since Year 9. He aims to study a Bachelor of Health Science with a major in public health.

Other Year 13 students awarded tertiary awards including Max McPhee who received a $35,000 Wellington Kahotea Scholarship (School Leaver Scholarships for Outstanding Achievements) at Victoria University in Wellington.

Other scholarship recipients:

  • Emily Butterfield, ($1500 Massey)
  • Rowan Heaslip and Ngawaina Hohepa ($5000 Victoria)
  • Richard Whitmarsh ($5000 Victoria)
  • Sophie Gold and Charlotte Graham ($5000 Waikato)
  • Grace Higham ($14,000 Otago)
  • Matthew Yarndley ($16,000 Otago), Keita Koroheke ($18,000 Otago)
  • Atareipounamu Crown ($16,500 Auckland, $18,000 Otago)
  • Bayley Quin and Megan Walker ($25,000 Waikato).

Other special awards:

  • Sportsperson of the year: Benjamin Ranby-Al.
  • Top Year 12 student: Adam Swney.
  • General excellence, Year 12: Adam Swney.
  • Te Awamutu Business initiative and enterprise: Dawna Dragovich.
  • Waipā District Council service to the community award: Megan Walker.
  • Top year 13 Maori student: Keita Koroheke.
  • Prime Minister’s Vocational Excellence Award: Blake Castleton.
  • Te Awamutu Masonic Lodge award for excellent contribution to the school: Keita Koroheke.
  • Rotary Shield for service to the school (girls): Mackenzie Harris, (boys) Bayley Quin.
  • RSA Peace Scholarship for contribution to service and leadership (girls): Atareipounamu Crown, (boys) Matthew Yarndley.

More Recent News

Council wants more data

A feasibility study presented to Waipā’s Strategy Planning and Policy committee this week to establish a youth business incubator hub in Te Awamutu lacked key information needed to obtain council funding. The proposal has the…

Ōhaupō changes ahead

Within 30 years Ōhaupō will be a small town growing to the north and Karāpiro will have a new school in a thriving village hub. The suggestions are two of several scenarios in Ahu Ake,…

Community ‘disconnect’

The plan for Karāpiro has taken at least one Waipā councillor by surprise but another who works there says the community has felt disconnected for years. Ahu Ake Waipā Community Spatial Plan has picked up…

Ladies in waiting

Te Awamutu Intermediate students were pictured just before their performance at last week’s Celebrating Waipā event at Karāpiro. Guests joined mayor Susan O’Regan, councillors and community board members at the Don Rowlands Centre for the…