Interest high in board seats

When nominations closed for the Waipā District Council local elections at midday on Friday, the fears there would not be enough candidates for a genuine election dissipated immediately.

A flurry of people had come forward.

A feature of the upcoming campaign is the interest in the district’s two community boards suggesting the council’s work in recent times to strengthen their profile has paid dividends.

Ten people put their names forward for four seats on the Cambridge Community Board and three for the one Maungatautari seat.

Eight candidates vie for four seats on the Te Awamutu-Kihikihi Community Board while Kakepuku’s Kane Titchener can take it easy during the campaign – he was the sole nominee for the one rural seat on the board.

The new Waipā Māori ward on council has three candidates while the race for the mayoralty has a distinctly district-wide slant to it with two from Te Awamutu, one from Cambridge and the other midway between in the district’s rural heartland.

Two newcomers will go up against incumbents for council’s four Cambridge ward seats while a last-minute nomination from a current community board member means there is a race of two for the vacant Maungatautari ward seat on council.

Three incumbents will front up against three veteran campaigners for the council’s Te Awamutu-Kihikihi ward while the new Pirongia-Kakepuku ward features a newcomer against two long-standing councillors for the two seats.

The Waipā nominees are:


Jim Mylchreest (Te Awamutu), Susan O’Regan (Roto-o-Rangi), Bernard Westerbaan (Te Awamutu), Chris Woodhams (Cambridge).

The list of people standing for council with the number of available seats is:

Pirongia-Kakepuku x 2:

Clare St Pierre, Corilin Steel, Bruce Thomas.

Cambridge x 4:

Philip Coles, Roger Gordon, Mike Pettit, Don Sanders, Delwyn Smith, Liz Stolwyk.

Maungatautari x 1:

Les Bennett, Mike Montgomerie.

Te Awamutu-Kihikihi x 3:

Andrew Brown, Lou Brown, Bernie Fynn, Marcus Gower, James Parlane, Bernard Westerbaan.

Waipā Māori x 1:

Bill Harris, Gaylene Roberts, Takena Stirling.

Community Boards

Cambridge x 4:

Elise Badger, Krystie Brickland, Jo Davies-Colley, Alana MacKay, Sue Milner, Selina Oliver, David Slone, Delwyn Smith, Michah Webb, Cherie Weinberg.

Maungatautari x 1:

Les Bennett, Andrew Myers, Ruth Nicholls.

Te Awamutu-Kihikihi x 4:

Georgina Christie, Norris Hall, Ange Holt, James Parlane, Jill Taylor, Bernard Westerbaan, Sally Whitaker, John Wood.

Kakepuku x 1:

Kane Titchener* (elected unopposed).






More Recent News

Pirongia gives $17,000

The Pirongia Community Board allocated $17,000 in discretionary funds last week. The board had almost $29,000 in its uncommitted funds to allocate, and 16 applicants sought a total of $32,413. Plunket was allocated the biggest…

Fluoride rates will be ‘safe’

The Prime Minister’s chief science advisor has told Waipā District Council the amount of fluoride going into Cambridge’s water supply is a safe level. Professor Dame Juliet Gerrard was responding to a call from the…

Why you should elect me…

Forty people have paid their deposits and put their names forward for seats on the Waipā council or community boards. So why should we vote for them? Here are the reasons why in their own…

The Age of Reason: Follow the leader ….

This is indeed a tumultuous month with the international scene overshadowed by the sad passing of a wonder lady, mother and world leader. The media from around the world is showering us with completely understandable…