College honours young achievers

The hard work of Te Awamutu College’s top students was celebrated at the school’s senior prizegiving last week.

Eva Oosterman was crowned the 2022 Dux Litterarum, with head boy Adam Swney the runner up.

Oosterman received four first in subject awards, and won the Soanes Senior Environmental Leader Trophy for her work on the schools Environment Committee.

2022 head student Elijah Lee passes the torch to Billy Ouston. Photo: Benjamin Wilson

Swney received two first in subjects, a $16,000 scholarship to University of Otago, and the Rotary Shield for Service to the School.

Dux runner up Adam Swney. Photo: Benjamin Wilson

The school’s new head students were announced during the prizegiving.

They are Stella Quigley, Billy Ouston, Sarah Druce, and Kirk Van Marrewijk.

The Te Awamutu College head students for 2023, Sarah Druce, Billy Ouston, Stella Quigley, and Kirk Van Marrewijk. Photo: Benjamin Wilson

Marrewijk was the last head student to be announced and received an extraordinary induction from the school’s kapa haka group.

He is a member of the school’s kapa haka group and was also given a leadership award for Māori & Pasifika Achievement and Success.

2023 head student Kirk Van Marrewijk was inducted with a haka from the school’s kapa haka group. Photo: Benjamin Wilson

Brylee Gibbes was awarded the Waipā District Council Service to the Community Award, which was presented by councillor Lou Brown.

Brylee Gibbes was awarded the Waipā District Council Service to the Community Award. Photo: Benjamin Wilson

The year 13 student chaired the school’s 2022 Service Committee, and represented Taranaki-King Country MP Barbara Kuriger at the New Zealand Youth Parliament in July.

“She has carried out this role with maturity and been a passionate advocate for issues affecting youth,” said deputy principal Wayne Carter.

Major sport awards:

  • Ag Freeman Rosebowl for interhouse supremacy: Pounamu House.
  • Bev Garrett Memorial Trophy for excellence in sport: Elijah Lee.
  • The Tataurangi Family Trophy for outstanding performance in an individual sport: Zara Brennan-Shaw.
  • Tangata Toa o Te Tau Trophy for sportsperson of the year: Maude Rewha.


  • Te Awamutu College Rogers Charitable Trust Tertiary Scholarship ($1500): Jessica Beck.
  • Vetora Tertiary Scholarship ($1500): Danielle Johnston.
  • University of Waikato School Leaver Scholarships ($5000): Joshua Fitzpatrick, Marnie Gielen, Sandie Goodrick, Danielle Johnston, and Liana Ramsey.
  • David Johnstone Charitable Trust Scholarship ($6000): Joshua Fitzpatrick.
  • University of Otago Performance Entrance Scholarship ($7000): Brooke Penny.
  • University of Otago 150th Entrance Scholarship ($15,000): Reese Sanders.
  • University of Otago Māori Entrance Scholarship: Jake Omundsen ($17,000), and Bethany Hughes ($21,000).
  • University of Waikato Te Paewai O Te Rangi Scholarship ($21,000): Madison Coleman.
  • RSA Peace Scholarship ($2000): Brooke Penny, Elijah Lee.

Special awards:

  • Alison Clarke Memorial Award, top international student: Nattapon Hanam.
  • Manaia Cup for Academic Excellence, top Māori student in Year 11: Jacob Chetwin.
  • Bouma Trophy for Academic Excellence, top student in year 11: Avleen Kaur.
  • Kia Kaha Trophy for Academic Excellence, top Māori student in Year 12: Dillon Holmes.
  • The Poot Cup for Academic Excellence, top year 12 student: Kaeden Cresswell.
  • Nga Kete O Te Wānanga Trophy, top academic Māori student in year 13: Bethany Hughes.
  • Trebilco Cup for general excellence in year 12: Breanna Doig.
  • Te Awamutu Business and Professional Women Trophy for Initiative and Enterprise: Anita Blakely.
  • Prime Minister’s Vocational Excellence Award: Dylan Chestnut.
  • Te Awamutu Masonic Lodge’s Trophy for Excellent Contribution to the school: Maude Rewha.
  • Rotary Shield for Service to the school (girls): Marnie Gielen.

More Recent News

Council wants more data

A feasibility study presented to Waipā’s Strategy Planning and Policy committee this week to establish a youth business incubator hub in Te Awamutu lacked key information needed to obtain council funding. The proposal has the…

Ōhaupō changes ahead

Within 30 years Ōhaupō will be a small town growing to the north and Karāpiro will have a new school in a thriving village hub. The suggestions are two of several scenarios in Ahu Ake,…

Community ‘disconnect’

The plan for Karāpiro has taken at least one Waipā councillor by surprise but another who works there says the community has felt disconnected for years. Ahu Ake Waipā Community Spatial Plan has picked up…

Ladies in waiting

Te Awamutu Intermediate students were pictured just before their performance at last week’s Celebrating Waipā event at Karāpiro. Guests joined mayor Susan O’Regan, councillors and community board members at the Don Rowlands Centre for the…